best chess openings

Best Chess Openings

Grant and you will unmask!
Funny name, real interests
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
mate_you_in_fifty 12 ( +1 | -1 )
here's a dumb question is long-castling legal if the b1/b8 square is under attack? only the rook passes 'through' that square.
silverwolfwsc 6 ( +1 | -1 )
yes its legal as long as the king doesnt pass through it.
brobishkin 16 ( +1 | -1 )
Hmmm... Is this a serious question?... How do you expect to mate people in fifty with questions like these?... Ahhhhh... I see... This is all a ploy to let our guard down isn't it...
bluebabygirl 33 ( +1 | -1 )
to- there are no dumb questions in chess. all chess questions are relevant . unless you ask - can i move that horsey like the queenie thingee??? then thats a dumb question!!! of course you can move the horsey anyway you like!!!!!! just be sure to rub it down and feed it hay before you put it away!!! got it mate-in-fifty.... yours bluebabygirl
invincible1 19 ( +1 | -1 )
to everyone But the real tough question is how to get your tiger activated especially when he gets too close to the rabbit or the river or ... err.... the tigress ;-)
I am sure BBG will agree with me. We did a lot of analysis the other day....
rommel13 32 ( +1 | -1 )
That's news to me I have always played under the assumption that if any square between the K and R or either piece that is to castle is under attack, that castling was not possible - even if only the rook.

I'm too lazy to look this up, but just for the record, would someone be kind enough to post a link on this?
indiana-jay 14 ( +1 | -1 )
rommel13,
That was what I thought. Only after I experienced it by myself in GK I know that it applies only for the King, not with the Rook.
brobishkin 15 ( +1 | -1 )
Basic rule... While castling, if to Rook and King have not moved previously, the King can not castle through check...

BBG... I like the horsey/queenie thingy...

Bro...
tulkos 14 ( +1 | -1 )
a link for the lazy www.chessvariants.com/d.chess/castlefaq.html
brunetti 9 ( +1 | -1 )
The rule is... here at GK: "MORE OPTIONS" menu, "Chess rules" option, rule 3.5a.

Alex
tulkos 8 ( +1 | -1 )
a link for those to lazy to leave gameknot gameknot.com/chess_rules.htm
buddie 12 ( +1 | -1 )
Viktor Korchnoi once asked an arbiter if castling was legal with his rook attacked, so you're in good company, mate-you-in-fifty.
mate_you_in_fifty 1 ( +1 | -1 )
thanks to everyone